Micro-X has proudly been named Innovator of the Year at the 2020 SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards.

The SA Science Excellence and Innovation Awards showcases the critical importance of science, research and innovation to the development of industry and society as a whole.

The Awards provide an opportunity to recognise the work of inspiring Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) leaders and teams working in research and education institutions, schools, industry and the community.

The Innovator of the Year Award recognises the development and commercialisation Micro-X has undertaken in the novel light-weight, mobile X-ray machine ‘Nano’, which is based on ground-breaking carbon nanotube (CNT) technology.

‘Nano’ technology negates the need for heavy cooling systems to be involved in x-ray scans, which results in a fully integrated X-ray machine weighing a fraction of traditional mobile X-ray machines currently on the market. The ‘Nano’ technology has wide applications and has been adopted in various sectors, with multiple units deployed globally since the onset of COVID-19 and feedback from clients overwhelmingly affirmed the ease of use and cleanability due to the streamlined light-weight design.

“We’re proud to see all the hard work and effort our team contribute to Micro-X be recognised, our carbon nanotube technology is an example of world-leading innovation in the health industry, developed here in South Australia and now being used in the current global pandemic.” Commented Micro-X Managing Director Peter Rowland.

The SA Science and Innovation Awards are a significant occasion in South Australia’s science calendar and are recognised as the premier science showcase event highlighting the diversity of scientific endeavour and research in South Australia.

South Australia’s Chief Scientist Professor Caroline McMillen said that SA’s Excellence and Innovation Awards demonstrate how STEMM researchers are working across the State to solve key challenges facing communities across Australia and the world.

Further information on the awards: